top of page

NBSHF announces new board members and leadership

The NB Sports Hall of Fame’s Board of Governors is pleased to announce the appointment of four new members and a newly appointed chair and vice-chair.

Martine Leblanc, former vice-chair and past chair of the finance committee, has been appointed as chair. She replaces Andrew McLeod, who has served as chair since 2018. Jane Arseneau, former member of the selection committee, has been appointed as vice-chair.

"In recent years, the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame has made great strides to acknowledge and address discrimination and inequity within our governance structure. As Executive Director, it gives me great pleasure to announce that for the very first time in our 50+ years of operation, we have gender parity on our Board of Governors." - Jamie Wolverton, Executive Director.

About the new board members and leadership

Martine LeBlanc of Moncton, NB brings with her 14 years of experience in sport with the Université de Moncton and is also the current Chair of the Cross-Country/Track and Field for Atlantic University Sport. As the Athletics & Recreation Manager, Martine sits on the USports Equity Committee and the Atlantic University Sport Scheduling & Sport Committee. Since 2009, Martine has also been involved with Team Canada at both Summer Universiade Games held in Serbia and Russia, and the 2010 IAAF World Junior Track and Field Championships. Previously, as an athlete, Martine was a member of the UdeM Women’s Hockey Team and also represented TeamNB for Tennis at the 1997 Canada Games.

Jane Arseneau of Saint John, NB has accomplished a career in curling spanning over 45 + years as a player, coach, and official and she has served in various capacities both locally, provincially and nationally. Jane is an Honoured Member of the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame and the Saint John Sports Hall of Fame. In 2012 she received the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal. In addition, Jane has been working for over 30 years with her husband at their landscaping company in Saint John and has been an active volunteer in the community for over 45 years.

Dr. Paula Keating was born and raised in Miramichi, NB, and has been practicing as a family physician in her hometown since 1993. She received her BSc from Mount Allison University in 1986 followed by her MD from Dalhousie University in 1990. After completing internship, then locum work in BC , she returned to NB. She has been involved in many sports for most of her life, with a special interest and aptitude in running. She is a member of RunNB Hall of Fame(2012), Miramichi Sports Wall of Fame(2013)and NB Sport Hall of Fame(2017).

Kelly Maher of Bathurst, NB is a retired teacher after 33 years at Bathurst High School. She coached high school girls varsity basketball for 12 years and the city league for five. Kelly is an avid golfer and pickleball player and serves in the board of Gowan Brae and is also the ladies match captain.

Romain Viel, originally from Ripples, NB and now residing in Fredericton, jointed the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame as a Governor in October 2021. Romain is a lawyer and holds undergraduate degrees from UNB’s Faculties of Kinesiology and Business Administration as well as a law degree from UNB’s Faculty of Law. Romain enjoys fitness and nutrition and coaches his children’s sports teams in various sports including soccer and basketball.

Todd Williams, of Dalhousie, NB has been a part of the Sports Hall of Fame team as chair of the selection committee from 2017 to 2021, He is a great addition to the board of governors.

Media contact: Carla Saul

Photos: Stephen MacGillivray Photography and NB Sports Hall of Fame

176 views0 comments


bottom of page