top of page
1971 Bathurst Papermakers







Year Inducted


Sport Ambassador


1971 Bathurst Papermakers



When the definitive history of amateur hockey is written, prominent in that record of accomplishments will be the home-grown 1971 Bathurst Alpine Papermakers. They could have filled their ranks with imports or added players as they moved up the ladder from local to provincial to national competition.But, in their own words, “We’ve gone this far on our own, so let’s go the rest of the way.”That way ended with a three-game sweep of the Rosetown, Saskatchewan, Red Wings, --and the hardy Cup, emblematic of the Intermediate “A” hockey championship of Canada! They proved that the difference between ordinary and extraordinary is that little extra they gave as they overcame a season of problems on their way to the top.On this, the 25th anniversary of their national title, their Province salutes them. Enrolled in the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame, June 1st, 1996.

Quick Facts

  • 1971 NB Senior League, provincial and Atlantic Intermediate "A" champions 

  • Defeated Rosetown, Sask. Red Wings to win Canadian Intermediate "A" championship and Hardy Cup, the first for a New Brunswick team. 

  • Team members: Ross Aube; Murray Branch; Marcel Coulombe (D); Jim Craik; Bob DeGrace; Clifford Daigle (D); Howard Doucet; Jack Furlotte; Danny Godin; Aurele Hachey; Charles Hachey; Joe Hachey; Mike Hachey; Denis Langlais; Art Maillais; Lou Ouellette; Paul Ouellette (D); Ken Roy; Don Smith; Harvelle White (D)

bottom of page