top of page
Milltown Baseball Teams







Year Inducted


Sport Ambassador


Milltown Baseball Teams



They were called the Mohawks, Kiwanis, and St. Croix's, but with few changes in key personnel, these teams from the border towns of St. Stephen and Milltown won nine consecutive provincial senior baseball titles and seven Maritime crowns between 1931-1939, a skein unequalled in Maritime baseball history. They say experience gained in exhibition games with touring professionals was a contributing factor in their success against such long-standing rivals as Devon, Saint John, Yarmouth, Liverpool, and Springhill. Capacity crowds were the order of the day in these golden years of baseball and none drew better than these teams made up almost entirely of local players. Enrolled in the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame, May 22, 1971.

Quick Facts

  • Won nine consecutive NB titles from 1931-39 

  • Won seven Maritime championships 

  • Played an exhibition game against the National League's Boston Braves in 1934 

  • Known as the Mohawks, Kiwanis and St. Croix 

  • Teams members: Grant Allen (D); Harry Boles (D); Roy Boles (D); Cecil Brownell (D); Mel Buchanan (D); Norman Buchanan (D); Alexander Calder (D); Howard Clark (D); Gordon Coffey (D); Lawrence Crompton (D); Whidden Ganong (D); Charles Godfrey (D); Arlo Hayman; Jack Hill (D); Ray Jellison (D); Ken Kallenburg (D); Lloyd Kelly (D); Clement (Leblanc) White; George Lee (D); Arthur Lowe (D); George Lowe (D); Jack Manson; Phillip McCarroll (D); William McIntosh (D); Theo McLain; John Mehan (D); Arthur Middlemiss (D); Clifford Middlemiss  (D); Dana Miles; Orville Mitchell (D); Aubrey Moffatt; Raymond Moffatt (D); James Morell (D); Donald Norton; George Purcell (D); Earle Ross (D); Francis Rutherford (D); Judson Stewart; Peter Talbot (D); Rolfe Van Stone (D); Charles Weatherby (D); Leonard H. Webber (D); William Whitlock; William Wiley; Alvin Young (D)

bottom of page