top of page
Memramcook Coca-Cola Rookies







Year Inducted


Sport Ambassador


Memramcook Coca-Cola Rookies



With the formation of the Memramcook Coca-Cola Rookies ladies softball team in 1978 there began a sport dynasty that quickly earned for itself a reputation for excellence and consistency. Year after year they won provincial titles.In 1984 they reached the highest level open to them when they became the first-ever New Brunswick team to win a national softball championship! Under the leadership of manager Éli Richard and coaches Thérèse Légèr and Michel Melanson, and with a cast of seventeen home-grown players, they won 44 of 56 games including a 9-0 gold medal victory over favoured Ontario. They placed four players on the tournament all-star team including MVP Charline Gautreau. In recognition of this achievement, Sport New Brunswick honoured them as Team-of-the-Year. Enrolled in the New Brunswick Sports Hall of Fame, June 7, 1997

Quick Facts

  • Winners of the Canadian Junior Softball championship in 1984; outscored their opponents 204-62 

  • 12 members of the team plus its coach were part of the bronze-medal winning NB team at the 1985 Canada Summer Games 

  • Teams members: Gilberte Allain (D); Monette Boudreau-Carroll; Carol Cooper; Denise Cormier; Camilla Cormier; Louise Cormier; Charline Gautreau; Monique Gauvin; Joanne LeBlanc; Monique Léger (D); Jocelyne Léger (D); Thérèse Léger; Susan McCarthy, Joanne McKinnon (D), Lilianne Melanson (D), Michel Melanson, Chris Olive-Spidell (D), Eli Richard; Joselyne Richard; Tina Steeves (D)

bottom of page